This Great Game Opinion ArchiveThis Great Game Opinion.

Dating back to 2005—when our first opinion piece raised hackles by claiming the Colorado Rockies would never win a World Series, and why—This Great Game has provided our predictions, reviews and commentary on all sorts of baseball-related topics. Catch up on the latest scribes or go back in time to see what was on our minds.


An Open Letter to Baseball, Re: Expanded Video Review
Posted April 15, 2014
An honest, heartfelt letter to the powers that be behind baseball’s failing version of comprehensive video review—and how our concept can fix it.


Baseball 2014: This Great Game’s Fearless Predictions
Posted March 20, 2014
Who will reign as the best, worst and most surprising baseball teams for the upcoming 2014 season? Let Eric, Ed and a few Bushers tell you all about it.


Baseball’s Best, Worst and Most Surprising: The 2013 Season in Review
Posted October 16, 2013
A look back at who thrived, survived and professionally died among the 30 major league teams as surprises and disappointments reigned.


A Typical Night in the Video Replay Booth
Posted June 5, 2013
Using This Great Game’s easy method of comprehensive video replay, here’s how a replay crew would spend its time at a typical baseball game.


The Legend of Sister Sandy Koufax
Posted May 10, 2013
Nobody threw a chalkboard eraser with greater velocity and movement than Sister Sandra, who would have impressed the greatest baseball pitchers of her day.


Baseball 2013: This Great Game’s Fearless Predictions
Posted March 19, 2013
Who will reign as the best, worst and most surprising baseball teams for the upcoming 2013 season? Let Eric and Ed tell you all about it.


Does Florida Deserve Major League Baseball?
Posted January 29, 2013
The Tampa Bay Rays and Miami Marlins are two of baseball’s biggest headaches—for different reasons. Here’s how to clear the clouds in the Sunshine State.


Fun Facts About Your All-Time Hit Leaders
Updated August 27, 2012
So you think you're smarter than the next trivia buff when it comes to major leaguers at the top of numerous hit lists? Here's 22 questions for you to prove it.


The 2012 Mid-Season Report Card
Posted July 2, 2012
Our annual look at the best, worst and most unexpected during the first half of the 2012 major league season.


Outguessing the Mayans: Our 2012 Baseball Picks
Posted March 28, 2012
This Great Game's fearless forecasters sort out the ups, downs and sideways to deliver their picks for baseball's 2012 regular season.


The 2011 Mid-Season Report Card
Posted June 30, 2011
Our annual look at the best, worst and most unexpected during the first half of the 2011 major league season.


All Things Being Equal: Our Picks for 2011
Posted March 27, 2011
This Great Game's fearless forecasters look through soothsaying eyes and deliver their best guesses for baseball's 2011 regular season.


The 2010 Mid-Season Report Card
Posted July 4, 2010
Our annual look at the best, worst and most unexpected during the first half of the 2010 major league season.


After Further Review: Making the Right Call on Replay
Posted May 5, 2010
As baseball struggles to grasp video replay, here's our suggestion on how to expand upon it and make it efficient—if not flawless.


If...TGG's Picks For the 2010 Season
Posted March 30, 2010
The prophets at This Great Game wade through the cloudy depths of dense details to establish who will thrive, dive and try to stay alive in the majors in 2010.


We Ought to Tell You: Our All-Decade Awards
Posted December 27, 2009
The prophets at This Great Game wade through the cloudy depths of dense details to establish who will thrive, dive and try to stay alive in the majors in 2010.


The 2009 Mid-Season Report Card
Posted July 7, 2009
Our annual look at the best, worst and most unexpected during the first half of the 2009 major league season.


Zero Tolerance on Steroids: It May Happen
Posted May 17, 2009
If major league owners are smart, they'll soon demand a lifetime ban for steroid use on the first offense—and the clean players within the union may go for it.


Is the Strikeout Overrated?
Posted May 1, 2009
There's an epidemic of strikeouts in baseball today, and there's no sign of it being erradicated soon. The question is: Does anyone care?


All Things Being Equal: Our Picks for 2009
Posted March 26, 2009
This Great Game's fearless prognosticators look through soothsaying eyes and deliver their best guesses for the 2009 major league season.


Can the Teasers of '08 Prove Their Worth in '09?
Posted March 26, 2009
At look at the best of 2008's call-ups who impressed at the end of the season, and their chances for providing an encore over 162 games in 2009.


Going, Going, Bronze: Baseball's Statuesque Obsession
Posted August 31, 2008
The path to true greatness doesn't end at Cooperstown, but the hierarchy of who's immortalized in bronze—and who's not—is a bit more puzzling.


The Just-Short-of-Mid-Season Report Card
Posted June 22, 2008
Our annual look at the best, worst and most unexpected during the first half of the 2008 major league season.


All Things Being Equal: Our Picks for 2008
Posted March 26, 2008
This Great Game's fearless prognosticators look through soothsaying eyes and deliver their best guesses for the 2008 major league season.


Things to Do in Denver When You're Wanted
Posted March 9, 2008
What happened when the guy who said the Colorado Rockies would never win a World Series was forced to make a stopover in Denver during the team’s unstoppable run in late 2007.


The All of Fame: A Primer for This Great Game
Posted January 6, 2008
Cooperstown has its Hall of Fame, but we have a whole collection of famous "Fames" for a quick glance of baseball history.


There’s Something Fishy With the Marlins
Posted December 9, 2007
No one profits from a major league baseball team more than the Marlins' Jeffrey Loria. So why does he keep trading his best players away?


Is the Fall of Barry the Terrible Imminent?
Posted November 18, 2007
For 15 years, Barry Bonds has slugged and bullied his way into becoming baseball's most powerful man. But the Feds may hold more power.


Give us Your Potential, Your Talent, Your Hungry
Posted September 26, 2007
Andy Rooney thinks there are too many Latinos in baseball while others think there's not enough African-Americans. It is what it is. Deal with it.


Are These Records Made to be Broken?
Posted August 1, 2007
As Barry Bonds breaks a major milestone, how many of baseball's other famous records are safe from future encroachment?


Altitude-Challenged: Why the Colorado Rockies Will Never Win a World Series
Posted July 15, 2005
So long as the Colorado Rockies are stuck playing half of their games in thin air, their chances of winning a World Series will be suffocated.


share this page with a friendShare this page with a friend.

Have a comment, question or request? Contact us at This Great Game.

© 2014 This Great Game.



Bushers Book